Daniel J. Pesut, PhD, RN, FAAN: A Strategic Foresight Expert

I have been recognized for my ability to inspire and activate the development of ideas and innovative solutions to challenging problems. I was recipient of the Edith Moore Copeland Founders Award for Excellence in Creativity from Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

I am a champion of futures thinking in nursing.  I am known for my creativity in teaching and learning especially in the areas of reflective clinical reasoning.  I am best known for co-creating the Outcome-Present State Test (OPT) model of reflective clinical reasoning a third-generation nursing process model. And the development of teaching learning strategies that incorporate systems, complexity, and integral thinking skills in clinical practices.

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing established the Daniel J. Pesut Spirit of Renewal Award in 2005 to honor my contributions, service, and leadership legacy in the nursing profession.


College of St. Thomas
Major: Psychology
B.S.N.Northern Illinois University
Major: Nursing
M.S.N.University of Texas Health Science Center
Major: Psychiatric Nursing
Ph.D.University of Michigan
Major: Nursing


  • State of Minnesota
    208533-7 (Active)
  • State of Indiana
    28139638A (Active)
  • State of Michigan
    124232 (Inactive)
  • State of Illinois
    41163648 (Inactive)
  • State of South Carolina
    R00035468 (Inactive)



  • Management Development Certificate, Harvard University (1999)
  • Integral Studies, Fielding Graduate University, Santa Barbara, California (2008)
  • Core Mediation Skills, IADR and Colorado State University (2008)
  • Coach Training, Hudson Institute of Santa Barbara (2011)


  • University of Minnesota, School of Nursing
  • Professor of Nursing, Population Health & Systems Cooperative Unit
  • Director, Katharine J. Densford International Center for Nursing Leadership
  • Katherine R. & C. Walton Lillehei Chair in Nursing Leadership
  • Indiana University, Center on Philanthropy
  • Professor
  • Indiana University, School of Nursing
  • Professor and Department Chair
  • Fellow Adjunct, Institute for Action Research
  • Professor and Associate Dean
  • Adjunct Professor
  • University of Iowa, College of Nursing
  • Professor Faculty
  • University of South Carolina, Institute for Families in Society
  • Affiliate
  • University of South Carolina, School of Nursing
  • Associate Professor
  • Associate Dean for Administrative Affairs
  • Visiting Associate Professor
  • University of South Carolina, School of Medicine, Department of Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Science
  • Associate Professor (Adjunct)
  • William S. Hall Psychiatric Institute
  • Director of Nursing/Associate Institute Director
  • University of Michigan, Adult/Child Psychiatric Hospitals
  • Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist
  • Educational Nurse Specialist
  • University of Michigan, School of Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
  • Assistant Professor
  • Undergraduate Coordinator

Professional Contributions

  • National Advisory Council, Nexus Learning System, National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education
  • National Advisory Council, Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • National Advisory Council, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars
  • International Advisory Board, United Planet
  • Board of Directors, American Academy of Communication in Healthcare
  • Board of Trustees, Plexus Institute


Honors and Recognitions

Full NameGranted ByDate
Visionary Leadership AwardUniversity of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Nursing2019
Gene Tranbarger AwardAmerican Association for Men in Nursing2017
Excellence in Leadership AwardAlpha Chapter Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International2006
Northern Illinois University’s College of Health and Human ServicesNIU College of Health and Human Sciences2003
Distinguished Alumnus AwardNorthern Illinois University Beta Omega Chapter Sigma Theta Tau2002
Luther Christman AwardAmerican Assembly for Men in Nursing2003
Who’s WhoAmerican Education, 6th Edition2001, 2006
Rebecca T. Markel Excellence in Mentoring AwardAlpha Chapter Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International1999
Distinguished LecturerSigma Theta Tau International1995-2005
Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching AwardThe University of South Carolina College of Nursing1997
Honorary FellowAmy V. Cockcroft Nursing Leadership Development Program1997
Distinguished Alumnus (Nominated)Northern Illinois University, School of Nursing, DeKalb, Illinois1996
Distinguished AlumnusUniversity of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Nursing1996
Fellowship in the American Academy of NursingAmerican Academy of Nursing1995
Edith Moore Copeland Founders Award for Excellence in CreativitySigma Theta Tau International1993
Helen Gurley Wolford Award for CreativityAlpha Xi Chapter Sigma Theta Tau1991
Who’s Who in American NursingWho’s Who in American Nursing1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993
American Nurses Foundation ScholarAmerican Nurses Foundation1986-1987
Cited In: International Directory of Distinguished LeadershipInternational Directory of Distinguished Leadership1987
Cited In: Personalities of AmericaPersonalities of America1982
National Research Service AwardU.S. Department of Health and Human Services1981
Cited In: Dictionary of International Biography, Volume 17Dictionary of International Biography1980
Cited In: Outstanding Young Men of AmericaOutstanding Young Men of America1980, 1984
Army Commendation Medal for Meritorious Service as a Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist in the U.S. Army Nurse CorpsU.S. Army Institute of Surgical Research, Fort Sam, Houston, Texas1978
Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and CollegesWho’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges1975


World Futures Studies Federation

Association of Professional Futurists

Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing

International Coach Federation